Different types of rice and their appropriate uses

Types of rice and their appropriate uses”

Rice is one of the most popular grains in the world, grown on every continent except Antarctica. According to statistics, there are over 40,000 different types of rice currently being used by people as a main food source in their daily meals.

  1. What is rice?

Rice is a food product obtained from the rice plant and is a staple food for nearly half of the world’s population.

Rice is commonly prepared as dishes such as rice, porridge, or ground into rice flour to make cakes and noodles. After the rice plant is harvested and milled, the outer hulls are removed to obtain the rice grain. Rice grains come in different colors, such as brown, deep red, and the most common, white.

Rice contains a variety of nutrients such as protein, fiber, starch, and beneficial compounds. From ancient times to the present, rice has become the “soul” of many different cuisines, notably in Vietnam.

  1. Classification of rice

Rice is typically classified by color, shape, and size, including three main types:

Short grain rice: a round-shaped rice that has a soft and sticky texture when cooked, considered the stickiest of all rice types. Medium grain rice: a relatively short-grain rice that has a soft texture but is not as sticky as short-grain rice. Long grain rice: a thinner grain rice that is four times longer than its width and contains less starch. When cooked, it typically has a fluffy texture.

Rice is classified into three types:

  1. Different types of rice

3.1. Brown rice (whole grain rice)

Brown rice is a type of rice that has only the outer hull removed, leaving the nutrient-rich bran and germ intact.

Brown rice contains essential nutrients such as starch, fiber, protein, vitamin B1, vitamin B2, vitamin B6, vitamin B3, and important minerals such as calcium, selenium, magnesium, or iron.

Brown rice usually comes in four main types, including:

  • Brown long-grain rice: the brown version of white rice, milled to remove only the outer hull, leaving the bran and germ intact.
  • Brown glutinous rice: commonly used to make the famous Vietnamese dish called “sticky rice,” brown glutinous rice contains more amylopectin than other rice types, which gives it a sticky texture.
  • Black rice: a unique rice that has been shown to have several health benefits and is considered a “superfood.” It contains more fiber, vitamins, and plant compounds than white rice and has a nutty flavor.
  • Red rice: a suitable choice for people on a diet or looking to lose weight. Red rice is a good source of nutrients and is said to help reduce inflammation.

3.2. White rice (refined rice)

White rice is one of the refined grains, like black, red or purple rice. This type of rice has been milled to remove the bran, germ, and husk, resulting in a white color and smoother texture.

This refining process removes a significant amount of nutrients found in brown rice, including fatty acids, minerals, and vitamins. As a result, white rice has lower nutritional value compared to brown rice.

3.3. Arborio rice

Arborio rice is grown in the Po Valley of Italy and is commonly used to make the famous risotto dish. During the cooking process, it releases a large amount of starch, creating a smooth texture. Apart from risotto, you can also use Arborio rice to make paella, a popular Spanish dish with a saffron flavor.

3.4. Fragrant rice

Fragrant rice includes Basmati rice, jasmine rice, or other types of rice with a strong aroma. These

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *